Fawad Niazi and Purdue Researchers Receive $325K INDOT Grant

Fawad Niazi, assistant professor of civil engineering, and his co-researchers from Purdue University West Lafayette, received a $325,686 grant from Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) for the “Development of Comprehensive CPT-Based Geotechnical Design Manual for Indiana Transportation.” Niazi’s portion of the grant is $60,394.

This grant project is aimed to prepare a comprehensive guide for the design of shallow/deep foundations, retaining walls, embankments, and other transportation structures using data from the most modern, expedient, economical and reliable in-situ site investigation tool, namely, the cone penetration test (CPT).

Currently, geotechnical designs are carried out using soil strength and stiffness parameters that are obtained from time-consuming and relatively expensive laboratory tests on disturbed samples of geomaterials obtained from selected depths.

Since the CPT is an in-situ test, that provides much greater ground truth in terms of continuous data from a single sounding, this manual will provide the basis for engineers to use CPT results directly for the assessment of site conditions and the design of geotechnical projects in the future.

Computer Science Capstone Team Wins IEEE Grant

A computer science senior project team of Brice Aldrich, Devin Aspy, and Zach Pratt were awarded an IEEE Standards Education Grant for their capstone project, sponsored by INdigital Telecom. The team is advised by Zesheng Chen, assistant professor of computer science.

Their project, “Redundant Failover Seamless-IP-Stack (RFSIS),” about creating an Internet Protocol Stack (i.e., IP-Stack) that supports seamless redundant failover for legacy systems and for future Internet-of-things (i.e., IoT) applications.

The IP-Stack is designed to provide a quick response to failover, in order to backup systems within user-land. It will more specifically be beneficial in the telecommunications industry, where most working systems are archaic and do not provide seamless failover technology.

The IEEE Student Grants require that student projects apply or implement industry standards. The team must submit an application paper for publication by the IEEE upon completion of the project. This is the second time a computer science department team won this grant.

Janine Bennett Receives Competitive National Fellowship

Janine Bennett (senior, biology) was awarded the nationally-competitive 2016 American Society for Microbiology-Undergraduate Research Fellowship (ASM-URF) for $5000. The fellowship is aimed at highly competitive students who wish to pursue graduate careers (Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.) in microbiology.

As part of the fellowship, she will receive a stipend for completing a research project this summer and presenting her research at the ASM Microbe meeting in New Orleans next June.

Thanks also goes to Eric Link, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, and Frank Paladino, chair and professor of biology, for providing supplemental funding.

OACS Receives Facing Project Grant

The Office of Academic Internships, Cooperative Education, and Service Learning (OACS) received a $1,500 grant from The Facing Project and the Indiana Campus Compact.

The grant will support a Facing Project book titled Facing Financial Hardship in Fort Wayne., which will be written by students and other volunteers in the community.

The book will focus on people involved with a United Way initiative called ALICE in Fort Wayne. ALICE stands for Asset Limited, Income Constrained, Employed . This description represents the growing number of individuals and families who are working, but are unable to afford the basic necessities of housing, food, child care, health care, and transportation.

The Facing Project is a nonprofit that connects people through stories with the goal of strengthening communities. The project provides tools, a platform, funds, and inspiration so communities can share the stories of citizens through the talent of local writers, artists, and actors.

Abdullah Eroglu Receives NSF Research Grant

Abdullah Eroglu, chair of electrical and computer engineering and professor of electrical engineering, received a $50,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The funding will continue his work on the control and ciagnostics of electronically commutated motors (EMCs). Yaya Mahamat (grad student, electrical engineering) will assist with the research.

EMCs are used widely in industry, including applications in HVAC systems and refrigeration and cooling units. The technology developed in the Energy Conversion Laboratory will help EMC manufacturers and service providers control their machines remotely using radio signals, while also increase energy efficiency and simplifying field maintenance.

This is the second NSF grant received by faculty in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

The highly-competitive NSF grant program aims “to spur translation of fundamental research to the market place, to encourage collaboration between academia and industry, and to train NSF-funded faculty, students and other researchers to understand innovation and entrepreneurship.”

Sheena Choi Selected for New Frontiers Grant

Sheena Choi, associate professor of educational studies, was selected for the 2016 Indiana University New Frontiers in the Arts & Humanities Experimentation Fellowship competition. She will received a $15,000 grant.

Her project, titled “Elite North Korean Defectors in South Korea: Their Lives, Defections, Identities, and Roles in Two Koreas,” builds on her earlier work as a Fulbright research fellow. She will travel to South Korea and conduct interviews with elite North Korean defectors currently living in South Korea.