IPFW Associate Professor Irwin Mallin to Co-Author Book

Iwin Mallin

Irwin Mallin, associate professor of communication, has a contract with Lexington Books to co-author a book about higher education. The book, Public Institutions of Access and Opportunity: State Comprehensive Universities and Community Colleges in the Higher Education Ecosystem, will focus on institutions of access and opportunity (IAOs) and the idea of higher education as an ecosystem, rather than individual institutions (what that means, what the various parts provide, problems that appear, and possible solutions.)

IPFW Professor Bongsu Kang Coauthors Book

Bongsu Kang

Bongsu Kang, professor of mechanical engineering, co-authored a book recently published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The book, Ultrasonic Welding of Lithium-Ion Batteries, is about ultrasonic metal welding for the manufacture of lithium-ion batteries used in electric vehicles, with a focus on two-layered and multi-layered aluminum and copper welding configurations.

IPFW Associate Professor Troy Bassett has Paper Chosen for Special Publication

Troy Bassett

Troy Bassett, associate professor of English, had a conference paper from the 2016 North American Victorian Studies Association (NAVSA) conference at Arizona State University chosen to be included in the special conference issue of Victorian Studies. The paper, Evidence of Reading: The Social Networks of Provincial Book Clubs, was one of approximately 400 presented at the conference. Bassett also recently gave a speech at Miami University (Ohio), titled, Digital Humanities and the Victorians: Patterns and Trends in the Nineteenth-Century British Novel.

IPFW Associate Director Alison Rynearson Wins Award

Alison Rynearson

During the 44th annual National Student Exchange (NSE) Placement Conference in Spokane, Washington, Alison Rynearson, associate director of student life and leadership and NSE coordinator, won the inaugural Terry Arnold Encouragement Team Award. Chosen by the NSE Council, this award is given to a campus coordinator for his/her commitment to the NSE consortium. Dr. Rynearson has supported the consortium as a placement coach, conference presenter, new coordinator mentor, fund raiser, and encouragement team member since 2003. Dr. Rynearson also gave two presentations: “Strategies for Incoming Exchange Students” and “Growing the NSE Program at Your University.”


IPFW’s National Student Exchange Program Recognized at National Conference

The university was well represented at the recent 44th annual National Student Exchange (NSE) Placement Conference in Spokane, Washington. NSE provides opportunities for students to study at another NSE college or university in the United States, Canada, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands while paying regular IPFW tuition and fees and using their same financial aid. Out of 150 campuses, Fort Wayne’s NSE program was recognized as the campus with the second largest annual growth in the number of outgoing exchangers. During the conference, we placed 19 students at 20 campuses for the 2017-2018 academic year and was first in the number of outgoing student placements in the state of Indiana and surrounding states. Kent State University and the University of Kentucky tied for second place with 9 each. IPFW accepted 5 students to study at our campus during the 2017-2018 academic year.

IPFW Represented at Indiana DECA State Career Development Conference

Twelve representatives of IPFW were sent to the Indiana DECA State Career Development Conference on March 6. DECA is a business education and leadership development organization, set primarily for high school students. There are seven area high school with DECA chapters. Students compete in areas of entrepreneurship, public relations, retail and food service management, marketing, and hospitality management. Taking part as judges in a number of competitive events were, John Nizer, professor of hospitality and tourism management, Barton Price, director of CASA, Karin Casazza and Buck Jordan, advisors in the Doermer School of Business, MBA students, Farbod Salman, Damini Handa, Uyen Nguyen, and Kalista Booth, Allison Burns, senior in marketing and management, Ross Hensley (B.A.S. ’13), and Sean Kelly (B.B.A. ’11). David Stineburg, assistant director of admissions, was also at the conference to look at recruitment prospects.

IPFW Professor Richard Sutter Presents at Conference in Cleveland

Richard Sutter, chair and professor of anthropology, was a presenter at the 45th annual Midwest Conference on Andean and Amazonian Archaeology and Ethnohistory earlier this month at the Cleveland Museum of Art. His presentation, titled, Performative Space, Spectacular Violence, and Sovereignty: The Case of the Southern Moche Polity (AD 200-900), discussed the Moche tribes of South America and how they are relevant or related to modern problems.

Richard Sutter